The meaning of colour

When you’re a child, one of the most serious questions you can ask a potential friend is, “so what’s your favourite colour?” Whether we knew it or not, there is meaning in colour. If that kid said brown, forget it – they can find a new friend.

Colour can be calming or passionate, energetic or imaginative. Surrounding yourself in the right hue can be a big decision.

Sacred Lotus Yoga Studio, located above Brant Stereo Auditronic at 44 Market St., opened this past September, and owner, Christina O’Neill, put a lot of thought into picking the perfect colour for the space. She finally decided on green: “It’s a very calming and healing colour, and I wanted to keep the space natural and serene,” O’Neill says.

Her choice of green works well for the meditative space since green is perceived to be a restful and peaceful colour. Green is a cool colour, like blue, and therefore very tranquil and passive. Warm colours like red and orange can create excitement or even anger so steer clear of these colours when you’re painting a bedroom.

In addition to this, green is a colour associated with the chakras. According to tantric tradition, the body has chakras or energy centres. O’Neill explains that, “there are seven energetic centers up the spine and green represents the heart chakra.”

If the heart chakra is flowing and open, it is said that we feel in control and deeply connected to everyone in our life.

So as exams roll around take a break from stress by filling your room with ferns, wear your best green shirt or smoking a joint. Go get your green on.

Means: strength, power, determination, passion, desire, love
Root Chakra: represents our foundation and is all about feeling grounded and secure

Means: happiness, creativity, determination, attraction
Sacral Chakra: relates to our ability to feel creative, sexual, and accept change

Means: joy, happiness, intellect, and energy
Solar Plexus Chakra: represents our ability to be confident and in control of our lives

Means: growth, harmony, freshness, and fertility
Heart Chakra: represents our ability to be confident and in control of our lives

Means: tranquility, calmness, loyalty
Throat Chakra: represents our ability to communicate and express ourselves

Means: power, nobility, luxury, and ambition
Third Eye Chakra: related to our ability to focus on and see the big picture

Means: imagination, inspiration, purpose
Crown Chakra: represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually

You May Also Like