Many familiar faces on Brantford’s newly elected council

Mayor Friel with his wife and children after winning last night's election. Photo by Cody Hoffman
Mayor Friel with his wife and children after winning last night’s election. Photo by Cody Hoffman

Last night’s election results solidified another four years at City Hall for incumbent Mayor, Chris Friel.

According to the City of Brantford’s election results, Friel collected about 36 per cent of voter support. Candidates Jan Vanderstelt and Dave Wrobel trailed Friel for voter support, Vanderstelt collecting about 19 per cent of votes, and Wrobel collecting 16 per cent followed by candidates St. Amant, Littell, Kaye and Turmel.

During Friel’s election campaign, he promised post-secondary students in the downtown core that he was committed to ensuring that Brantford will provide “space to offer a richer student life experience.”

Friel’s campaign also promises that he will focus on issues like job creation, developing a local culture of the “100 mile diet”, implementing Smart Brantford, and work towards bringing Go Transit to the city.

During his campaign, Friel launched an economic development initiative called “Smart Brantford”. Through the initiative, Friel hopes to “shift the way we live” by developing and bringing together six components: connection, economy, people, living, governance and environment.

This election marks Friel’s fifth mayoral win in Brantford, having began his career in municipal politics in 1994, becoming one of the youngest mayors in Canadian history at age 27.

Friel proceeded to serve as mayor through the 1997 and 2000 elections, losing in 2003 and again in 2006 to Mike Hancock, and returning to City Hall in 2010.

Alongside Friel, city council will be made up of incumbent councilor Larry Kings and Rick Weaver for Ward 1, incumbent councilor John Utley and John Sless for Ward 2, incumbent councilor Dan McCreary and Greg Martin for Ward 3, incumbent councilor Richard Carpenter and Cheryl Lynn Antoski for Ward 4, and incumbent councilor Dave Neumann and Brian Van Tilborg for Ward 5.

The new council will officially be sworn in on December 1, 2014.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *