Local Lifetime Achievement Award announced

Local volunteers will finally be getting some of the attention they deserve.

Last Wednesday, a committee of citizens gathered at the Sanderson Centre for the Performing Arts on Dalhousie St. to announce the creation of “The Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Volunteerism.” The announcement was made by committee chair Derek Bond.

“I am so pleased that this important project has evolved from an idea born in casual conversation between two friends only four months ago, into an annual event, complete with a formal committee,” said Bond, adding that the committee is made up of outstanding volunteers in their own rights.

A community event will be held annually during National Volunteer Week to announce the recipient or recipients of the award. This year’s recipient has already been selected and will be honoured on Tuesday, April 8 at the Sanderson Centre at 7 p.m..

The award is through a partnership between the citizen committee and the Brantford Community Foundation to recognize and honour worthy community members who have made major contributions to their communities over a lifetime of volunteering.

The award can have up to four recipients per year taken from the four local communities within the riding of Brant: Brant County, the City of Brantford, Six Nations of the Grand River or Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation.

“I have been humbled by the response, to the idea I offered, to celebrate the huge number of great volunteers we have in this riding,” said Dave Levac on Wednesday. “Many individuals give a lifetime’s worth of volunteerism with little or no recognition. It’s time we celebrated their contributions.”

The committee is made up of active community members from all four regions, including Derek Bond, Stephen Barker, Stacey Farrant, David General, Carolyn King, Dave Levac, Janice Mills, Helen Mulligan, Len Offless, and Vyrt Sisson.


Any individual or group may put forward a nomination throughout the year.

Nominees must reside within Brant County, the City of Brantford, Six Nations of the Grand River, or Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation. Posthumous nominations will only be honoured in a situation where the death occurred after being selected by the selection committee.

Lifetime Achievement Awards will never be presented to the same individual twice.

No federal, provincial or municipal representative can be nominated during their term in office within any region.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *