Canada announces roster for CONCACAF

The Women’s CONCACAF (The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) tournament is almost here and Canada has announced their 20-women roster. The CONCACAF is the qualifying tournament for the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France. The tournament will be from October 4-17 with Canada’s first game on October 5th against Jamaica.  

The roster features eight NWSL players, including Lindsay Agnew, Allysha Chapman, Shelina Zadorsky, Rebecca Quinn, Diana Matheson, Adriana Leon, Nichelle Prince, and captain Christine Sinclair.  

Desiree Scott, who was supposed to play, will miss the tournament due to a foot injury. Jordyn Huitema, from British Columbia, will be the youngest player on the team at only 17 years old. She finished as the top scorer earlier this year at the CONCACAF Women’s U-20 Championship with five goals.  

Christine Sinclair is the all-time leader in appearances (269) and goals (173) for Canada’s women’s team. Sinclair is the second-highest goal scorer in the history of international women’s soccer. She is 11 goals away from passing the current record holder, Abby Wambach, who played for Team USA.  

Sinclair is one of four players on the roster with over 100 games played for Canada.  

Canada is ranked fifth in the world and is expected to make it through group stages. Other teams in their group include Costa Rica (ranked 33rd), Jamaica (ranked 71st), and Cuba (ranked 85th).  

The other group feathers Trinidad, Tobago, Panama, Mexico, and the USA.  

The U.S is currently ranked first in the world and are the favourites to win the tournament. However, Canada will most likely make it to the final as well because the teams that ranked higher than them in the world — Germany, England, and France — are not participating in this tournament.   

The roster is down from 23 players, which is three less than what would be on the roster for the World Cup next summer.  

The top three teams in the tournament will automatically qualify for the 2019 World Cup and the fourth-place finisher will head to a home-and-away playoff with Argentina for a spot. Canada plays their first game on October 5th at H-E-B Park in Edinburg, Texas at 8:30 p.m. ET.  

Here is Canada’s full roster: 


Jorden Huitema, Adriana Leon, Nichelle Prince, Deanne Rose, Christine Sinclair, Janine Beckie  


Jessie Fleming, Julia Grosso, Diana Matheson, Sophie Schmidt, Gabrielle Carle 


Lindsay Agnew, Allysha Chapman, Ashley Lawrence, Emma Regan, Kadeisha Buchanan, Shelina Zadorsky, Rebecca Quinn 


Stephanie Labbe and Erin McLeod  

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *